😳Huge VAR error?! Was a regular goal disallowed in CL?

Excitement in Leipzig: were the Rasenballers perhaps deprived of a regular goal in the Champions League round of 16 against Real Madrid? Benjamin Šeško would have given Leipzig the lead in the second minute of the match, but the goal was retaken.

The reason: Benjamin Henrichs would have been offside when Šeško scored and obstructed Real goalkeeper Andriy Lunin. But first, the offside rule states that Henrichs was not criminally offside because he was behind the goalkeeper. Second, subsequent physical contact with Lunin was actually minimal, which would also have been an extremely delicate decision.

What is certain is that Šeško was definitely not offside. How do you judge the scene? Did VAR make a huge mistake here? Feel free to discuss it in the comments.

The match ended 1-0 for Real Madrid thanks to a dream goal from Brahim Díaz.

Author: Jacqueline MANNESSIER